Skip to content

Techno Love

14 June 2009

I do not have any techno music, but if I did, I would post it with this post. So imagine riding with hot and bumpin techno music.

I just watched “He’s Just Not That Into You,” and with its quantity of well-known actors and its debate on the quality of the film, I think it portrayed many of the classical women stereotypes.  Regardless, if a woman does not believe that she actually fits the stereotype, dumb girl, and she fits the stereotype.

One of the aspects of the film that I believe is so pertinent today is the way we communicate.  We have modernized from cord phones to wireless phones, to mobile phones that never leave our sight.  We have email accounts, facebook, twitter, myspace, and blogs to keep track of others.

“What am I supposed to do? Things have changed. People don’t meet each other organically anymore.  If I would like to make myself more attractive to the opposite sex, we don’t go and get a new hair cut, I update my profile. That’s just the way we do it.” Quite true, Ms. Barrymore.

So beyond the movie world, it is quite true that we do take advantage of our technologies.

Mobile phones are probably the worst because everyone has them now and they are super accessible.  And when girls like a guy and maybe something has started, our phone senses heighten becoming weird and glued to our phones in the palm of our hands, looking at it every five minutes.  Then the caller ID and text messages — damn you!! (+ a fist cursing you in the air).  Please, caller ID is good and stupid, you know its reasons, we screen and we know you screen. An unlucky oxymoron.

And texts, they are probably the worst because the anticipation can be brutal.  It is a form of quick information without the quick small chat and a new aspect of flirtation.  Other than super speed texting like my siblings, tweens, and us young adults, texting has also become an art form. There is a technique and a strategy of texting. Who starts the text? Let me try to sound cute, but not too cute, flirty/witty cute. Oh, and I need to write something to where he will write something back. Ok, I sent it, did he get it? Why is he taking so long? I got one back! Yay, now how long do I wait until I send one? Repeat.

Texts have lost their innocence and have upgraded to specific and delicate wording.  Words can be wonderful, but also so miss leading.  It leads to the over joyous over analyzing default in all of us, men and women alike. But as I can only speak for my gender, texts open a whole can of worms for interpretation and over analyzing, just as much as any other form of ambiguous communication.

Facebooking, twittering, myspacing, and blogging are sharing mechanisms and in a way, we think we know a person better by their multiple multimedia pages. We profile and structure men and women into who we think they are, trying to fill in the gaps, but are obviously left unsatisfied because those pages really do not give us very much information.  We bring it on to ourselves trying to be apart of other people’s lives even though the other person does not know it, but it happens.  I think that all sounds more creepy out loud, but why do we scan people’s pages? In this context it may sound more extreme, but the question is still fitting.

We are all subjected in techno love, you and I both.  And not that there has to be a remedy to help ourselves from scanning the web or our phones, but just be careful.  The real people are typically better than the screeny people.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lily permalink
    14 June 2009 18:42

    Chris can’t receive txt msging, never has. No cute, flirty/witty txts for me. 😦

  2. 16 June 2009 18:40

    I believe that being direct in our verbal and written communication will help to alleviate our confusion a majority of the time. If we all made our intentions known clearly and directly there would be less interpretations of said correspondence.

Leave a comment